ECCB Announces New Council Member

The Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) announces its new Monetary Council Member, the Honourable Camillo Gonsalves, Minister for Finance, Economic Planning, Sustainable Development and Information Technology for St Vincent and the Grenadines.


Minister Gonsalves will replace the longest serving Council Member, Dr The Honourable Ralph Gonsalves, Prime Minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines, who served as ECCB Monetary Council Member from March 2001 to November 2017. 


“The Monetary Council members, Board of Directors and Management and Staff of the ECCB welcome Minister Gonsalves to the ECCB team in his capacity as Council Member for
St Vincent and the Grenadines. Like his predecessor, we anticipate nothing but full commitment and stellar contribution to the highest decision making body of the Bank during his tenure. I look forward to working closely with him towards the advancement of our region,”
said the Honourable Roosevelt Skerrit, Chairman of the Monetary Council.


Prior to his appointment, the Honourable Camillo Gonsalves was the Permanent Representative of St Vincent and the Grenadines to the United Nations, a position he held for over five years.  He was the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade, Commerce and Information Technology from September 2013 to December 2015.  His professional experience also includes journalism and service as Senior Crown Counsel for the Government of St Vincent and the Grenadines.


As the new council member, Minister Gonsalves is expected to attend his first council meeting, the 90th Meeting of the Monetary Council, carded for 16 February 2018 in St Kitts and Nevis.


The ECCB Monetary Council is the highest decision making body of the ECCB and comprises the Ministers of Finance from the eight member governments: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and
St Vincent and the Grenadines.


Media Contact: Ingrid O’Loughlin, Senior Director, Corporate Relations Department

Phone: (869) 465-2537 | Fax: (869) 465-9562

E-mail: | Website:

full navigation / siteplan